Dom is aged 57, and besides his work as an entrepreneur and creator of IT start-ups, every year, he accompanies numerous adventurers, often younger than him, into wide open spaces, both horizontal as well as vertical. He set up the association Cap Expé, a community of adventurers, both male and female, in order to encourage the dream of adventure and especially to realise them independently. His main motivation is teaching and knowledge transfer. That is also why he is now launching into film production.

Simon, aged 26, is an industrial engineer, who is passionate about sport climbing and mountain climbing. He has already organised a mountaineering expedition in Tian Shan Kirghize and a number of outings in the Alps. Climbing the Lotus Flower Tower brings to an end his sabbatical year in Canada, during which he has familiarised himself with climbing big walls on nuts. Simon loves action and performance sports.

Joachim, aged 25, has been working as a physiotherapist for two years. He is passionate about sport climbing, which he has been practising at the gym since he was a teenager. He started cliff climbing with his uncles at the age of 10, but he only has limited experience in the absolute. What attracted him to this expedition is being submerged for a whole month in all this virgin countryside of the Canadian far north, away from all civilisation.

Matthias, aged 23, loves mountains, and he has just completed his civil engineering degree. He has already taken part in several expeditions, such as skiing in Lapland, cycling in Mongolia, and hiking in Canada. He has already accompanied Dom on a challenging climbing trip in the Dolomites. His dream is to get closer to the mountains, and this expedition will, no doubt, be the start of a long series of eventful mountaineering experiences.

Antoine, aged 23, is a medical student. Like Joachim, he has been climbing at the gym since he was a teenager. Just recently, he has started doing some serious cliff climbing, but in terms of big pitches, he has only limited experience. However, he is quite adept at hiking and mountaineering, as his family and friends have trained him in this since early childhood. He goes hiking every year, or goes conquering summits in the Alps. For him, this is a first major expedition given its length and its physical and organisational complexity. What attracts him most to this adventure is the wide open spaces and the peace and quiet, whilst at the same time keeping his eyes firmly fixed on the summit.

Intentions de l’équipe

Why and how?

Everything first started when we received news from Simon, who was in Canada in December. He approached me with the project to go and climb the Lotus Flower Tower in a park in Canada. At the time I did not give it much thought, and I told him that I was up for it. In the following weeks I came to realise what I had let myself in for. Little by little the extent of the expedition unveiled itself. Right up to June it just continued to grow in magnitude. Making discovery upon discovery, I really realised that what I was preparing myself to do was, compared to everything I had done up until then, a colossal project.

I did have a few moments of doubt with regard to my ability to complete this expedition without risking my life. For me, the risk of getting hurt in the course of the expedition would have been disastrous for my future career. Given that I am a self-employed physiotherapist, it would have left me without any income. However, I took the decision to just go for it and do it. Looking back, this has been one of my best decisions ever. Joachim

What were your fears?

Beyond the physical risks and what this would have involved, my main fears were about living as a group of 5 in the middle of nowhere for a whole month. I only knew Simon and Antoine before starting our preparations. I was committing myself to spending a whole month confined with four people, and I was afraid of what that might involve.

However, the atmosphere was great, and even the awkwardness with regard to Dom’s age was quickly forgotten about. During the first four days, Dom taught us all there was to know about the practical aspects of living in the wild. Day after day, we repeated the same little routines of installing the camp and preparing dinner, which he had drummed into us. After one week, I was starting to feel more comfortable, and I took ownership of those tips. I even started to create some for myself. I became independent, and this experience will be useful for any projects I may undertake in the future. Joachim

The film project

When we all first met at Dom’s house, he told us his project was to film the adventure and to produce an amateur film. He then asked us to help him produce it by us also doing some of the filming on location. That worried me because this would mean that we would not really be making the most of things as they were happening, that you are already projecting yourself into the future after the expedition. I was worried that that would prevent me from really making the most of being immersed into the deepest countryside by clinging onto civilisation.

I have never been the one to take photographs whilst out hiking, but I quickly got a taste for it. The fact that everyone was taking turns filming quickly made us forget about the cameras, and everything soon became natural again.

One or two months after the expedition, Dom told us that the amateur film project had turned into a semi-professional film with all the investment that that would entail for him as he was responsible for the film. I was surprised and happy to learn that our story was so popular. From my point of view, we were only five amateurs (even if Dom has 30 years of experience), a far cry from what I have always seen in the documentaries about mountains and mountaineering, which I so like to watch.

I am now motivated to help produce this film as much as I can. And that also includes promoting it because I really believe that this story can touch youngsters of my age and even younger people. Inspiring them to want to accept this offer of a project from this friend, which you would never even have dared dream about. Joachim

How was the project presented to you?

Initially, it was Simon who suggested this project to me in March 2016. It took me aback at first, but it did not take me long to decide to accompany them on this expedition. I know Simon and Joachim very well, and the only ones I hardly knew were Dom and Mathias. This was not a problem to me because of all the weekends we spent together preparing, which gave us the opportunity to get to know each other. Antoine

What were you fearful about?

I mainly climb at the gym, which I have been doing since I was a teenager. As I had not done a lot of cliff climbing, this 800 m high rock to be climbed on nuts was going to be my 5th cliff outing. That was my only ‘fear’. However, this being the case, the level of the pitch was more than feasible, so it did not put me off for long. I was not worried at all about the rest (packrafting, the hiking to gain access, etc.). I was in good shape, from a physical point of view, and I have never really had any ‘limits’ as such. Antoine

What were you looking for?

What I was really excited about was the isolation and the fact of being completely away from any civilisation for a whole month, and to do everything completely independently from the very first until the very last day. I have been going on trips to the mountains every year ever since I was a young child. When I graduate as a medical doctor, I intend to go abroad to the Swiss or French Alps. My dream would be to settle somewhere where outdoor sports are more accessible than in Belgium (cross-country or downhill skiing, hiking, mountaineering, climbing, etc.). This expedition suddenly really appealed to me, and now it is motivating me in my pursuit to go abroad. Antoine

So, where are you at now?

I can’t pretend to have ‘changed’ as a result of this expedition. It was truly incredible, but you have to keep your feet on the ground and tell yourself that this is not the first and certainly will not be the last. We all face challenges each and every day, and even outside of such expeditions you can create new projects every day. I see this story as a trigger, which I find re-assuring, and I tell myself that with determination and daring, we can all achieve really great things with our friends. Antoine

Dom a 57 ans et à côté de son boulot d’entrepreneur et de créateur de start-ups informatiques, il accompagne chaque année de nombreux aventuriers, souvent plus jeunes, dans les grands espaces sauvages horizontaux comme verticaux. Il a lancé l’association Cap Expé, une communauté d’aventurières et aventuriers dans le but d’encourager le rêve d’aventures et surtout leurs réalisations en autonomie. Sa motivation principale c’est la pédagogie et la transmission. C’est aussi pour cela qu’il se lance aussi aujourd’hui dans la réalisation de films.

Simon, 26 ans, est un ingénieur industriel passionné d’escalade sportive et de montagne. Il a déjà monté une expédition d’alpinisme dans le Tian Shan kirghize et une série de sorties dans les Alpes. L’escalade de la tour de la Fleur de Lotus clôture son année sabbatique passée au Canada pendant laquelle il s’est familiarisé avec l’escalade sur coinceurs de grandes parois. Simon aime l’action et la performance.

Joachim, 25 ans travaille comme kiné depuis deux ans. Passionné d’escalade sportive qu’il pratique en salle depuis l’adolescence, il a commencé la grimpe en falaise à l’âge de 10 ans avec ses oncles mais n’a que peu d’expérience dans l’absolu. Ce qui l’attire surtout dans cette expédition c’est sa plongée d’un mois dans la toute grande nature vierge du grand nord canadien, loin de toute civilisation.

Matthias, 23 ans, passionné de montagne, vient de terminer ses études d’ingénieur civil. Il a déjà participé à plusieurs expéditions notamment à ski en Laponie, en vélo en Mongolie et à pied au Canada. Il a déjà suivi Dom dans une escalade engagée dans les Dolomites. Son rêve est de se rapprocher de la montagne et cette expé sera sans doute le début d’une plus longue série de péripéties alpines.

Antoine, 23 ans est étudiant en médecine. Comme Joachim il grimpe depuis l’adolescence en salle. Très récemment initié sérieusement à l’escalade en falaise et en grandes voies il n’a que peu d’expérience dans ce domaine. Mais il n’en est pas moins adepte de la randonnée et de l’alpinisme, éduqué depuis son enfance à la montagne par sa famille et amis, il part chaque année pour faire de la randonnée ou gravir des sommets dans les alpes. Cette expé est pour lui une grande première de par sa durée et de sa complexité physique et organisationnelle. Ce qui l’attire le plus dans cette aventure ce sont les grands espaces et la tranquillité tout en gardant un oeil fixe sur le sommet.

Intentions de l’équipe

Pourquoi et comment?

Tout a commencé en prenant des nouvelles de Simon qui était au Canada en décembre. Il est venu vers moi avec le projet d’aller grimper la Tour de la Fleur de Lotus dans un parc au Canada. J’ai pas beaucoup réfléchi sur le moment et je lui ais dis que j’étais partant. J’ai réalisé dans quoi je m’embarquais dans les semaines qui ont suivi. Petit à petit l’ampleur de l’expédition s’est dévoilée. Cela a continué à grossir jusqu’en juin. Découverte après découverte, j’ai vraiment réalisé que ce que je m’apprêtais à faire était, comparé à tout ce que j’avais déjà fait, un éléphant.

J’ai eu des périodes de doute quant à mes capacités à réaliser cette expédition sans risquer ma vie. La possibilité de se blesser lors de celle-ci aurait été pour moi catastrophique pour la poursuite de mon travail. Etant kiné indépendant je me serais retrouvé sans revenu. Mais j’ai pris la décision de me lancer et de le faire. Une de mes meilleures décisions quand je regarde en arrière. Joachim

Quelles étaient tes craintes?

Au-delà des risques physiques et de ce que cela aurait impliqué, mes principales craintes étaient sur la vie à cinq au milieu de nulle part pendant un mois. Je ne connaissais que Simon et Antoine avant de commencer les préparatifs. Je m’engageais à passer un mois “confiné” avec quatre personnes et j’avais peur de ce que cela pouvait impliquer.

Mais l’ambiance était bonne et même la gêne liée à la différence d’âge avec Dom s’est vite dissipée. Les premiers quatre jours, Dom nous a transmis son savoir dans tous les aspects pratico pratiques de la vie “into the wild”. Jours après jours nous recommencions les petites routines de l’installation du camp et de la préparation du dîner qu’il nous avait inculquées. Après une semaine, je me suis senti plus à l’aise et je me suis approprié ces astuces. J’ai même commencé à m’en créer moi-même. J’étais alors indépendant et je garderai cette expérience pour mes projets futurs. Joachim

Le projet du film

Lors de la première réunion chez Dom, il nous avait annoncé son projet de filmer l’aventure et d’en faire un film amateur. Il nous demande alors de l’aider dans cette réalisation en filmant nous aussi sur place. J’avais peur que par cela on ne profite pas vraiment de l’instant présent, que l’on se projet dans le futur d’après expé. J’avais peur que cela m’empêche de profiter pleinement de cette plongée dans la nature profonde en me rattachant à la civilisation.

Je n’ai jamais vraiment été celui qui prend les photos en randonnée, mais j’y ai vite pris goût. Le fait que tout le monde filme à tour de rôle nous a vite fait oublier l’objectif et le naturel est revenu au galop.

Un ou deux mois après l’expé, Dom nous a annoncé que le projet du film amateur c’était transformé en film semi pro avec tous les investissements que cela allait entraîner pour lui qui portait ce film. J’ai été surpris et content que notre histoire puise plaire à ce point. De mon point de vue nous n’étions que cinq amateurs (même si Dom à 30 ans d’expérience) très loin de tout ce que j’ai toujours vu dans les documentaires que j’aime regarder sur la montagne et ses grimpeurs.

Maintenant je suis motivé pour aider à la réalisation de ce film dans la mesure de mon possible. Et cela passe par la promotion de celui-ci. Car je crois vraiment que cette histoire pourra toucher les jeunes de mon âge et les plus jeunes. Leur insuffler l’envie d’accepter la proposition de cet ami qui vous suggère un projet dont vous n’auriez même pas osé rêver. Joachim

Comment cela s’est-il présenté pour toi ?

Dans un premier temps, c’est Simon qui m’a proposé ce projet en mars 2016. Perplexe dans un premier temps, il ne m’a pas fallu longtemps avant de prendre la décision de l’accompagner dans cette expe. Je connais très bien Simon et Joachim, il y a seulement Dom et Mathias qui m’étaient presque inconnus. Cela ne m’a pas posé de problèmes grâce aux weekends de préparation que nous avons fait ensemble et où nous avons appris à nous connaître. Antoine

Quelles étaient tes craintes ?

Je suis surtout un grimpeur de salle, que je pratique depuis l’adolescence. N’ayant pas beaucoup grimpé en falaise, ce rocher de 800 mètres en escalade sur coinceurs devait être ma 5ième sortie en falaise. C’était ma seule « crainte », ceci étant, le niveau de la voie était plus qu’abordable donc ça ne m’a pas rebuté longtemps. Je n’étais pas du tout inquiet pour tout le reste (packrafting, marches d’approche…) j’étais bien en forme physiquement et je n’ai jamais vraiment été « limité ». Antoine

Que recherchais-tu ?

Ce qui me branchait le plus, c’était l’isolement et le fait d’être hors de toute civilisation durant un mois entier, de tout faire en autonomie la plus complète du premier au dernier jour. Depuis mon plus jeune âge, je pars tous les ans en montagne. J’aspire après mes études de médecine à partir à l’étranger dans les alpes suisses ou françaises, ce serait mon rêve de pouvoir m’installer dans un lieu où l’outdoor est plus envisageable qu’en Belgique (ski nordique, alpin, randonnées, alpinisme, escalade…). Du coup, cette expédition me parlait vraiment et me motive dans cette lancée de partir à l’étranger. Antoine

Maintenant où te situes-tu ?

Je ne prétends pas avoir « changé » après cette expe, c’était vraiment incroyable mais il faut garder les pieds sur terre et se dire que ce n’est ni la première et certainement pas la dernière. À chaque jour en suffit sa peine, même en dehors de ces expéditions, il y a moyen de créer de nouveaux projets chaque jour. Je considère cette histoire comme une amorce, cela me rassure et je me dis qu’avec de la détermination et de l’audace on peut réaliser vraiment de grandes choses avec ses potes. Antoine